Average Salary In New York:
New York Certification:
New York State law requires all individuals who intend to practice esthetics within the state to obtain a NY State license in esthetics.
To become a licensed esthetician in the state of New York, there are several requirements you must meet:
- You must be at least 17 years old
- Complete 600 hour NY approved study program
- Pass written exam
- Pass practical exam
- You must have a physical examination no more then 30 days before submitting your application
Are There Fees For Licensing?
Yes. There are several fees that you must pay in order to complete the licensing procedure. Payment must be made by check, money order, or credit card. Cash is not accepted. The application fees are non-refundable.
- $40 Application
- $15 Written Examination
- $15 Practical Examination
A NY State esthetics license is good for 4 years.
Where To Apply:
All licensing in NY State is handled by the Department of State, Division of licensing Services.